Relative progress

I’m fat and weak and slow and sore.  But…

I had my healthy breakfast today, then I helped a friend move some stuff for his garage sale, and brought home some stuff.  Then I did a little work and went to the gym.  See above… I am sore.  I am not the weight I should be,  rolls of me get in my way.  But…

I went with my friend and we started on the treadmill.  She is much slimmer than I and had hers set on 3 mph, so I thought to myself, “Self, let’s try 3.”  So I did.  And I went 20 min.  Then we went over to the bike, and I did 10 min at lvl 5.  Eh.  See above… I’m slow, but not as slow as I thought I was.

Then we went over to the weight machines.  My friend is not in training with anyone so she does very light weights, I am doing weights 2x a week so I am stronger.  Then this big guy came over to work on the weights.  He was very very big.  Over 6 feet tall and over 300 pounds, but not in muscle.  He wouldn’t have to use a pillow to play Santa Clause.  But still, it’s a guy.  He gets on the chest press machine and sets the weights and does 3 sets… of 5 reps, at 30 pounds.  I am surprised.  Hmmmm.  My friend gets on and does 2 sets of 10 at 15 pounds.  I am not surprised.  I get on and try the 30, then the 40 then settle on 50 pounds,  3 sets of 15.  We go to the shoulder press, and she does 2 sets of 10 at 10 pounds, he does 3 sets of 5 at 20 pounds,  I do 3 sets of 12 at 30 pounds.  Now I’m really confused.  Don’t guys have superior upper body strength?  Then we go to the leg machines.  Leg extensions friend: 2 sets of 10 at 20 pounds; guy: 3 sets of 8 at 30 pounds; me: 3 sets of 12 at 45 pounds.  Leg curls friend: 2 sets of 10 at 15 pounds; guy: 3 sets of 8 at 30 pounds; me 3 sets of 12 at 45 pounds.  He goes to the triceps extension machine and does some over there then moseys over to the bikes to do about 10 min.  See above…I’m weak, but not as weak as that guy or my friend.  And even though I’m sore, I can do much more weight for more reps than either of them.

Both of them hobble out the door, totally spent and sure they’ll be emptying a bottle of ibuprophen when they get home.  I won’t feel this until tomorrow.

I fell off the wagon on my nutrition today.  I had a brownie.  I had a cheeseburger, and I had (gasp) popcorn at the movie.  *hangs head in shame*

 

Leave a Reply

