Is it an allergy or a cold

Does it matter?  Well, yes.  An allergy goes away when the things you’re allergic to go away.  A cold goes away when it WANTS to go away.  Sniff sniff…coff coff.  So those of you who do lots of cardio, what do you do when you catch cold?  Doesn’t that mean that when you’re not running or walking or elipticalling (elipticalling?!) or treading that you have to start from scratch when you start up again?  When I’m coughing and sneezing and my head and nose are stuffed up, I can’t breathe.  When I can’t breathe, I can’t get my heart rate up.

Of course, if you’re reduced to a soup diet, you are not really piling on the calories are you!  Well…depends on the soup.  If you have a cup of clam chowder, 250 cal, but a bowl is 650!  And some chili is huge, and some stew is humongous!   Nevertheless…I did 90 crunches last time I was in the gym.  My abs did not hurt as much as they do after 3 days of coughing.  What kind of exercise do you do when you’re struck down with a cold?  Picking up the kleenex around the trash can that you missed from throwing them across the room counts as deep knee bends right?  Walking all over the grocery store to find cough drops gives you steps for your fitbit….ummmm.  Sneezing and coughing are great core exercises!  Going up the stairs to get the cough medicine every 4 hours counts doesn’t it?  Wellll…

So obviously, I didn’t go to training tonight.  Except I did.  I’m up 2 pounds since Saturday.  Must be all those cough drops I’ve been eating?  I added a new exercise.  I lie down on the incline bench with a 10 lb plate in my hands, sit up, stand up, twist left and right, sit down without using my crutch or my hands.  I think I’m going to hurt tomorrow.  I also lie on my tummy and lift my legs back off the bench.  I can’t do my left leg very well.  It barely moves.  With all the coughing I’ve been doing, I didn’t do the crunches, but I did the butt raises, the latex band work on my legs, and the rubber ball exercises.  I’m tired.

 

210.4 lbs.

2 thoughts on “Is it an allergy or a cold

  1. I usually let the cold wipe me out for a few days. Your body is fighting and extra stress from exercise doesn’t help. Going for a walk outside may help clear your lungs, but it could also aggravate the cold. By all means, though, continue to fight against your body’s natural inclination to rest and recuperate. Keep chugging water, whatever you end up doing.

Leave a Reply

